Beauty Blogger Spotlight: Q&A With Anna Bankester of Bee Beauty

bee-beauty

Anna Bankester is a 30-year-old beauty blogger and freelance makeup artist from Alexandria, Louisiana who runs the blog Bee Beauty. Her blog currently has 4,540 followers and she posts three times a week on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. She covers a wide range of topics that include makeup tutorials, reviews, skincare, style, interior design, lifestyle, and fitness. She spoke to me about how she got into makeup, why she started her blog, and some of her favorite makeup products.

 

What first got you into makeup and how old were you when you started wearing it? 

I think like most of us, it was my mom who got me into makeup. I would sit and watch her get ready every day and copy everything she would do when I was really little. She would give me her older stuff that she’d hit pan on to play with. When I was 13 I started wearing makeup to school, and haven’t stopped since. I would study how people in magazines did makeup and try to imitate it on myself.

What’s your favorite thing about being a freelance makeup artist?

I love faces and everything that makes them unique. Getting to enhance the features that make them different is a joy to me. I love it.  I love making someone feel great about themselves and embrace what they think of as imperfections, and show them that that’s what makes them beautiful. And it’s fun, I get to paint faces, be creative, and play in makeup.

Why did you decide to make a beauty blog?

Because my husband was sick of hearing me talk about makeup, LOL! No, really I started Bee Beauty as an outlet for my passion, and share my makeup knowledge. I love talking about new things I’ve learned, and about products. And again, it’s fun. I get to do all the things I enjoy with blogging, from makeup to graphic design. I can talk about more than just makeup if I want.

The blog has also given me something to focus on and keep me busy. It helps with my anxiety.

How do you come up with ideas on what to post?

If I get a new product, I want to review it and go into all the details from packaging to performance.

For my tutorials and makeup looks, those ideas come from a variety of places. Sometimes it’s the expected holiday themed look, but I try to put a new spin on it that fits my style which is usually a bit more macabre. Most of the makeup look ideas come from music, the colors I see in my head when I hear it, how the song makes me feel. It’s just like with any other artistic expression. I put a lot of thought into it.

Of course, other posts are showing techniques for makeup, some are about interior design, and some are just for fun.

Do you feel like your life has changed at all since creating your blog? If so, in what ways?  

Yes, I feel a bit more fulfilled. Like I am doing something for a reason as trivial as makeup may seem. Blogging gives me a sense of accomplishment. I was in kind of a mental rut before I started Bee Beauty and was having really bad anxiety issues like I said, it gave me focus. Bee Beauty has also allowed me to have some many new opportunities, from guess blogging and writing, trying new products, to helping out my freelance MUA career. I earn a little more income here and there to support my habit of buying makeup.

What are three beauty products you wouldn’t be able to live without?

Eyebrow pencil, mascara, and concealer.

What’s one of your favorite drugstore makeup products? 

I love NYX’s Micro Brow Pencil. It’s a dead on dupe for the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz and it will up your brow game like nothing else.

What’s one of your favorite makeup or beauty hacks? 

I don’t know if Baking is a hack, but I love it. Especially around the chin where I crease like crazy and below the bottom lip to clean up the lip shape and give it a lift. I have a droopy sad mouth so this helps me out.

Leave a Reply

